LIFM

Random #1: Aritzia and Club Monaco

Posted in Haru Haru by Jae on December 1, 2008

Prof Duxbury: Kids, if you look hard enough you can see the light at the end of the tunnel... for lectures I mean... you still have finals... so don't run towards the light....

This is my first non-DBSK post in a loooonnnnng time. Speaking of DBSK, the other day while I was waiting at in line for Timmy’s (seriously, in DC this line is a mile long), I saw a herd of girls walk by speaking in rapid Korean, I couldn’t pick up a single word except…

Korean girl: miduyo micheo kamsamida DONG BANG SHIN KI [more random korean words I think I know]

I thought to myself, we don’t even speak the same language but we are so similar. ^___^

I promise no more DBSK fangirling…… for the rest of this post.

I went to STC this weekend with my parents and since our economy’s in the shitter, every store is having a sale. Of particular interest to me were the abundance of Buy One Get One Half Off (BOGOHO) deals; I always thought they were a good deal until this thought process took me by storm:

If I buy 1 sweater for $50 and get the second sweater for $25, in reality… did I only get 25% off my entire purchase? o___O

25% is like one step up from an Aritzia sale… actually the rank should be as follows: 25% off > tax free > Aritzia… I once calculated the percentage you save at Aritzia during a “sale” and it was 5%. Aritzia is on a steady decline in my polls… their popularity has gone to their head and the days of exclusivity and good quality have long gone. (Does anyone recall that their first supplex was actually manufactured in Canada?) All that remains are cheap knockoffs of designers like Primp and mass production (the peacoat jackets are identical every season). Their clothes aren’t creative anymore and their sales rely primarily on their teeny-bopper fanbase. Their sales associates are competitive as hell and I once saw confrontation between two sales associates fighting over my purchase. One of the two girls recognized me from my last purchase, go figure, they only service you if they know you’ll spend money. Maybe Aritzia is just a phase everybody grows out of. Just like Urban Behaviour (high school) . And Stitches (elementary school).

Anyway, I bought a turtleneck from Club Monaco since they were having a 30% off promotion which by the way is unstackable with their 20% Student Discount. Bummer… but what did I expect… it’s Club Monaco. While I was there I noticed this darling sweater that I could not afford ='(:

Andrew Chunky Knit Sweater $299

Andrew Chunky Knit Sweater $299

Image Source: Club Monaco

I think the whole outfit is gorgeous actually, the skirt is cute too… I didn’t see it in store though, it retails for $129 I believe; a little too pricey for a skirt IMO. The gloves are on sale from $89 to $59… which I think is still pretty steep for a pair of gloves even if they are leather.

I also went in to check for these male driving gloves which are so bad ass… but I couldn’t find these either. These stores need online stores! Even Chanel has an online store now (albeit invite only -___-); I suppose it is very difficult to securely deliver $3000 bags… I mean do they do it by armoured trucks and men with machine guns? But I digress…

Whenever I visit Club Monaco, this two-step process kicks in: 1) I foam at the mouth when I look at the clothes; 2) tears flow down my face as I leave… because their stuff is so overpriced. I mean it’s one thing to pay for quality, but the clothes aren’t even made in Canada or the States. I really can’t justify $299 for a sweater made in a third world country; I don’t care if it’s made from baby lamb or if it’s sewn by virgin hands. For $299, you could go contemporary AND the stuff would be made in a developed country; Club Monaco as nice as their stuff is, is at best high-street. But maybe that’s just my opinion.

Tagged with: ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. c said, on December 1, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    so you took your parent’s advice huh?
    well i guess if you don’t buy the second item you are technically getting 0% off :O
    but you will be simultaneously spending less money?

    what is the lesser of the two evils?
    *ponders*

  2. c said, on December 1, 2008 at 12:54 pm

    p.s. this insightfulness shit is too much

    bring back some DBSK.

  3. parislilith said, on December 2, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Damnit Cheryl! They need to take a break too, there’s been nothing out for 36 hours about them. How do you think I feel!?!? I think they flew to Japan for a performance or show or something; shit I don’t know maybe they’re just resting. Nah I know they’re not resting, Korean singers don’t rest. I’ll check the stalker fancams and let you know.

  4. c said, on December 2, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    knew i could count on you, baby šŸ˜‰

    *seductive pose*

    .. *Ram on beach pose*


Leave a Reply

