LIFM

We Asians are not done with Hana Yori Dango

Posted in Drama, Hana Yori Dango by Jae on January 19, 2009

I suspect we never will be. I am anxiously awaiting Bollywood to make their version.

kkot_poster02

This promo poster fails to do any of their faces justice. I don’t know why but Lee Min Ho isn’t very photogenic and don’t let this picture fool you, KIM BUM IS SMEXY.

I always knew this manga (all-time best-selling shoujo manga) was popular especially after all the different adaptations were made, but it has reached a new level of popularity that I never thought were possible. While searching for subbed videos of the Korean version, I came across videos that had subs in: English, Spanish, French, Portugese and get this… what I think was ARABIC. O___O

For those of you living underneath a rock, Hana Yori Dango is the story surrounding Tsukushi who attends a school for the rich and famous. There she makes the ultimate faux-pas by antagonizing the school’s “kingka” Tsukasa whose rich beyond imagination and hot beyond description. (Of course, of course). He’s the leader of a notorious group: F4 who comprises of 3 other members – all rich, all hot. Jealousy and love triangles ensue, like any good drama.

Overall, the plot generally doesn’t seem that interesting but I believe the hype that surrounds this manga generates a huge pressure on the television networks to recruit the finest of the finest to act in the adaptations. For this reason, the Japanese version of Hana Yori Dango had a star-studded cast: Matsumoto Jun, Inoue Mao, Oguri Shun and AND Shota Matsuda.

I first came across Hana Yori Dango through the Taiwanese adaptation Meteor Garden. It was terrible.

I thought to myself after watching it that I could not possibly watch the Japanese version (with Matsujun) because a) my first encounter wasn’t so hot and b) I already knew the plot (which really irks me since nothing is a surprise). But I did end up watching it one particularly lonely summer night. And I haven’t looked back since. The Japanese version is SOLID GOLD. Believe it or not, the sequel is even better. Seriously some good stuff. Skip Hana Yori Dango Finale (Movie) unless you’re a hardcore devotee because it was… bad. But other than that Hana Yori Dango remains one of the greatest dramas I’ve ever watched and tied at first place with My Girl.

And so now I’m watching the Korean version of it. Not going to lie. STILL FREAKIN’ AMAZING. Hope I don’t jinx this. Even though I know exactly what’s going to happen, it is still so good. I love the actor they chose for Tsukasa, so far from the three versions, Lee Min Ho’s portrayal of Tsukasa is my favourite. Matsujun was amazing as well, but his exaggerated portrayal of Tsukasa often made his character seem like a charicature.

tsukasa1

Jerry Yan, Matsumoto Jun, Lee Min Ho as Tsukasa(s)

Just watched the first three episodes of this. Yea, Lee Min Ho looks ridiculous with the perm, I mean they could’ve used looser rolls and a lighter hand. But as it loosens, he will be smexy.

With respect to Hyunjoong, I am mildly impressed with his acting since my expectations of idol actors are at a basal level. But I’m going to be honest, he can never replace Oguri Shun as Rui. Oguri Shun MADE Rui; his acting and mannerisms were perfect: Maa~kino.

But WHOA, KIM BUM. I think he plays his character to a ‘T’ as F4’s resident playboy millionaire. Wow, and I thought they couldn’t possibly find anyone who could even compare to Shota Matsuda.

kkot4-122

Kim Bum as Nishikado Soujiro

matsudashotasongtianxiamj9

Shota Matsuda as Nishikado Soujiro

EYE CANDY GALORE!

ENJOY!

Joon Pyo makes me ♥____♥.

Watch out Jaejoong, a new kid’s in town.

GD: what about me? Me: yea yea, I love you too.

Image Credits: Dramabeans
7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl said, on January 19, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    WHO IS THE ONE WITH THE FUR collar
    me likie.

    and joanna, you really need to keep a lock on your lovers

  2. Joanna said, on January 19, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    that’s lee min ho, you’re lucky i’m not into him yet…

    i dibs weekdays… you can have him on the weekends

  3. Cheryl said, on January 20, 2009 at 1:11 am

    what, BITCH!
    don’t you have enough men
    YOU’RE SUCH A SLUT joanna!

  4. Cheryl said, on February 10, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    that girl annoys the FUCK OUT OF ME
    CAN YOU TELL HER TO STOP OVER-ACTING AND SCREECHING
    i can’t stand her anymore

    aren’t you actually supposed to LIKE the main character?
    i want TO KILL HER
    SHE IS SO IRRITATING

  5. Joanna said, on February 10, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    yea i hate geum jan di too

    i said it, and i’ll say it again

  6. MaoJunshippernow said, on June 13, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    heyy there just discovered and finishing a hanayoridango marathon as such cannot type properly. Thought that BOF was HOT and agree with everything you say here especially that Kim Bum is deceptively innocent looking he is actually very HOT. And matsujun…I used to think he looked a bit weird but yah, he’s a great Domyouji….and MAAAA-KI-NOH. Yah, Loved Oguri Shun..actually not fair to compare because Hanazawa Rui (say it on a sigh) has balls. and fought for his gal. And mah.kee.no. had to choose whereas Jandi pretended she didnt know (yahright)…to be honest there was no moment in HYD where I went “huh??” and only after watching it could I understand BOF properly like how tight the boys were!!! I Loved that!!!! But….Boysoverflowers Kimbum and Soeun was pure gold. No comparison, 2 different dramas actually (different angles) but yah, now addicted to Jdorama AS WELL as Kdrama.

    Oooops sorry hogging your blog.

  7. mamae said, on August 5, 2009 at 4:13 am

    the korean f4 are the best looking guys and not a bad actors too, considering they are all new at acting, they totally look and act the part of rich heirs especially lee min ho. the japanese version is also ok but the guys are not that hot. Meteor garden is the worst though they are the first adaptation, especially the part 2, soo long and boring.


Leave a Reply

