LIFM

[Review] Antique Movie

Posted in Film, Korean by Jae on March 15, 2009

Before I even start my review, I have to get this off my chest:

This film is a MUST WATCH.

antique

When I first saw the trailer for this movie, I thought to myself: JOO JI HOON + CAKE. What more would I need?

antique-2

I wanted to watch the movie for all the sexual innuendo and pretty boys but it delivered much more than that. In all honesty, I think the trailer for this film is slightly misleading; it gives an impression that this film was focused on gay romance and pretty boys (with the obvious intent to draw in the fangirl masses), but the movie actually has much more depth than that.

antique-3

The movie starts off with what appears to be a light-hearted movie focused on fluffy cakes and beautiful men but the movie raises the question: Can anyone be unhappy while eating cake? Throughout the movie, you learn about how the four characters are inextricably linked to cake through various unexpected experiences.

antique-5

Joo Ji Hoon (♥) plays the owner of the bakery called Antique but he hates the taste of cake. During the beginning of the movie, he leaves his employees and audience confused as to why he is so determined in running a cake shop. But I assure you, his reason is worth waiting for.

antique-4

The cinematography and directing of the movie is exceptional. I think the script was done very well; there was never a shortage of hilarious scenes. And I think the juxtaposition of comedy and darkness of the plot is what makes this film particularly striking to me.

Rating: ★★★★★

I request that commenters refrain from posting spoilers. TIA. ^^

P.S. I watched this with my friend Krishna, check his site out here.

Image Source: HanCinema

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl said, on March 15, 2009 at 12:48 am

    guess what i’ll be doing tomorrow?

  2. Cheryl said, on March 15, 2009 at 12:48 am

    okay.. okay
    i’ll tell you…………

    … laundry.

  3. Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:22 am

    yo i’m telling you, you need to give this movie a chance! it was so good…!

  4. Krishna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:32 am

    I agree cheryl, the movie was good. This has a Krishna Seal of Approval, that has a lot more clout than Joanna’s 5 star rating.

    The movie was great, I love the servant guy.

  5. Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:36 am

    NOOOOOOOOoooo “Krishna Seal of Approval”, now no one will believe me!!!!!!!!

  6. Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:37 am

    JK JK… we still tight

  7. N said, on March 15, 2009 at 4:00 am

    No scene from this movie will touch my eyes because of the Krishna Seal of Approval.

  8. Justine said, on March 15, 2009 at 9:37 am

    I love this movie!! I find it funny and but not so lightly… I like that they were speaking french, because I’m a french girl so… I like the way they put together cake, inside troubles, sexy boys… It’s not just a movie for fangirls (like High School Musical) or for gays…
    JHJ is SO sexy in this movie… OMG!!

    • Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 5:18 pm

      i totally agree, this movie… was so good.. i can’t say anymore about it because i don’t want to spoil… but people watch it! ><

      GAHHH~ Joo Ji Hoon!!!!

  9. Cheryl said, on March 15, 2009 at 10:40 am

    i know i was just kidding
    i will be watching it later

    and p.s. krishna
    you need the ACTUAL STAMP image to be effective
    take a page from my book 😉

    BHAHAHAHAH..
    -________-;;;;;;

    • Krishna said, on March 15, 2009 at 12:09 pm

      Cheryl make me a stamp. I am far too lazy to do anything, I am all about outsourcing my work.

      Also I forgot to mention that Joanna is soooo slow. There was one part of the movie where I was laughing a lot and Joanna was totally confused. So we re-watched the scene and I explicitly told her what to look for but she still missed the joke. Only after the third rewind did she catch the joke and by that time ruined it forever.

  10. Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    i was paying attention to the person speaking!!! It’s natural!

    • Krishna said, on March 15, 2009 at 1:51 pm

      I can understand missing it once, but the second time I was like “look at servant man” and yet you missed it again.

      • N said, on March 15, 2009 at 4:56 pm

        Its ok Krishna, Joanna just doesn’t have the comedy gene

        • Joanna said, on March 15, 2009 at 5:15 pm

          WHOA WHOA WHOA Nelson!

          I recall making you laugh a number of times. Intentionally. Of course.

          • N said, on March 15, 2009 at 6:17 pm

            I’m sorry to say Joanna, I was faking it

  11. Cheryl said, on March 16, 2009 at 12:01 am

    lol this is all too funny..

  12. […] Best Quality: Easy, A lot of smiling and crazy twists n turns *more elaborate review check out limboinfastmotion*. […]

  13. ant said, on May 7, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    nice for antique frends.


Leave a Reply

