LIFM

[Review] Son Dam Bi – Type B Album

Posted in KPOP by Jae on April 25, 2009

sdb-type-b

I know I promised this review AGES AGO.

But what are you going to do, school had me bent backwards.

This is Dam Bi’s first full length album after three mini albums.

Let’s just get started.

1. 토요일밤에 (On A Saturday Night)

This is her latest single from the album. And while the intro is really nice… I have to say that she could’ve had a stronger comeback song. This song just screams “blah” to me. It doesn’t really have anything special and I did not like it even after many listens *shocked* Thumbs down B.

2. No Sympathy

This is a different version from the one on her 2nd Mini Album. This sounds like a remix, and I have to say while I loved the 2nd MA version, this one…. is not going to get many listens from me. I don’t like the feel of the new song, I don’t know, I liked it slower with fewer beats.

3. 두번째라도 (Even if it’s the second time)

This is my favourite song on the album. I think this may be the only song I’d listen to over again and again.

4. 느리게잊기 (Slowly Forgetting)

As much as I love Dam Bi, she isn’t someone I’d associate with ballads because her voice simply isn’t strong enough to evoke the emotions necessary for a ballad. Sorry, just my opinion.

5. Bad Boy (Remix)

Filler. But a great remix. This was on her Remixes Mini Album. Along with the following track.

6. 미쳤어 (Remix)

Filler. AND *yawn* The original version is the best. Just goes to show you shouldn’t mess with a great thing.

7. 그만하자 (Let’s Stop)

Sorry, don’t like this track either ><”

8. 투명인간 (Invisible Person)

This is unfortunate, I didn’t like this song on her 2nd Mini Album, and I’m sad to say that nothing’s changed.

9. Twice Too Many Time

This song is completely in English. And it’s not a bad song, even though you do hear an accent. People are speculating about a possible American debut. To which I’m screaming: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO*breathes*OOOOOOOOOOOO.

This is going to be a mini rant, but I have to get it out of my system.

I’m sick of all these successful Kpop acts trying to debut in the States. I’ll say it here right now.

You are not going to succeed unless you have full mastery of the language and culture.

That is the first and most basic step and without it, you aren’t going to go anywhere.

10. 토요일밤에 (Instrumental)

*yawn*

I sound really harsh in this review. But in a “full-length” album with five filler tracks, the other 50% better be stellar. Unfortunately this album did not deliver and I’m very disappointed because I’m a big fan of SDB, =(

20090319_sondambi_1

Better luck next time B.

Tagged with: ,

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Cheryl said, on April 25, 2009 at 6:34 pm

    i don’t know if i can take your musical opinion seriously

    • Jae said, on April 25, 2009 at 7:56 pm

      i don’t know if i can take you seriously cheryl, since i rec’d you all your kpop. =)

  2. Cheryl said, on April 25, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    no you rec’d me the MEN
    not the music!

  3. Hey hey hey said, on May 6, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    You should stop reviewing the album song by song. You’re not telling us a review, you’re telling us your vague opinions. And let them be if they’re trying to make it big in the States, who cares. One thing I can agree with you is that this release from Dambi was a disappointment. That is all.

  4. quinqui said, on June 23, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Quoting you: “..You are not going to succeed unless you have full mastery of the language and culture.”
    Wow, those were strong words ^^ But you give me reason for my theory of people who speaks english are very closed to accept foreign artists who don’t speak native English 😛

    Anyway, Type B kinda disappointed me, too. When artists feel themselves near of top of success, they tend to release some mediocre material ¬¬….. Hope next issue will be better 😛

  5. pete said, on July 6, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    i would give it a B-, not extra ordinary but better than average, basically this album is just the recollection of her previous two mini albums with some B sides as filler. Usually, artist tend to “modify” their original because they want their fan to view their work in a different light (other perspective) as people attention spam does not last most than 1 minute and they get bored easily. Sorry to say that we all want something new all the time, but she might be busy with others works so we have to satisfy our self with second grade album : could hurt her artistry??? but at least it has appease my hunger, not full but quite enjoyable.

  6. japanrolls said, on January 20, 2010 at 10:23 pm

    please connect with us, thanks ^^ japanrolls.blogspot.com


Leave a Reply

