LIFM

The Enneagram – What type are you?

Posted in Random... by Jae on November 26, 2009

Last night I came back from my last and favourite (not cause and effect) death and dying class.

This class has not lessened my anxiety over death per se, but it has certainly made me aware of the death experience.

Our last lecture dealt with death and the individual.

According to the Enneagram, all people can fall under 1 of 9 personality types.

Based on these personality types, your view of death can be predicted.

I was shocked to discover how accurately the enneagram determined my personality and view on death.

So here is what you do:

PART 1:

A. Get a pencil and a piece of paper

B. Rate the following statements on a scale of 1 to 7. 7 being most applicable to you, and 1 being the least applicable to you. Keep the order of the statements the same on your sheet as it is indicated below! I.e. There are a total of 27 statements, do not number them 1-27, you should have three sets of 9 statements, each set numbered 1-9.

I feel motivated by the  need to…

1. Live life the right way, improve myself and others, and avoid anger

2. Be loved and appreciated, and to express my positive feelings toward others.

3. Be productive, to achieve success, and to avoid failure.

4. Understand my feelings and to be understood, to search for the meaning of life and to avoid being ordinary.

5. Know everything and understand the universe, to be self-sufficient and left alone, and to avoid not having the answer or looking foolish.

6. Feel secure and taken care of, or to confront my fears.

7. Be happy and plan fun things, to contribute to the world, and to avoid suffering and pain.

8. Be self-reliant and strong, to make an impact on the world, and to avoid being weak.

9. Keep the peace, merge with others, and avoid conflict.

I think that I…

1. See anger as a character flaw and try to repress it.

2. Am interested in people, play the role of nurturer, and try to present a loving image.

3. Try to be seen in a good light, according to socially agreed upon terms.

4. Have a strong need to express myself and be seen as original.

5. Rely on my own resources and find safety in knowledge and/or withdrawing.

6. Try to control my fear by being alert and either seeking approval from, or rebelling against, authority figures.

7. Am active and optimistic, and I avoid unpleasant emotions, including fear.

8. Am powerful and am not afraid to express my anger.

9. Am accommodating and often out of touch with my anger.

My worldview can be characterized as…

1. The world is an imperfect place. I work toward improvement

2. People depend on my help. I am needed.

3. The world values a champion. Avoid failures at all costs.

4. Something is missing. Others have it. I have been abandoned.

5. The world is invasive. I need privacy to think and to refuel my energies.

6. The world is a threatening place. Question authority.

7. The world is full of opportunity and options. I look foward to the future.

8. The world is an unjust place. I defend the innocent.

9. My efforts won’t matter. Don’t make waves. Keep the peace.

Part 2:

A. Add up all your scores for all your “1.” statements, and all your “2.” statements, and so on. You should end up with 9 totals.

B. Look at your top three scores, read over the corresponding sets of statements (i.e. If your highest score was for 5. statements then read over the 5. statements) and decide which set is “closest” or most reflective of yourself.

C. Write down the set you are. This is your type number.

Part 3:

How do you view death?

Your results.

Type 1: The Perfectionist

Basic Desire: To be right

Basic Fear: To be condemned

Never? Let their spouse wear a sweatsuit to a highschool reunion.

Conceptualize death as a mistake.

Strengths:

– Always on top of things

Weaknesses:

– Lack of consideration for others

Type 2: The Helper

Basic Desire: To be loved

Basic Fear: To be unloved.

Never? Show up at a potluck empty handed.

Conceptualize death as a need.

Strengths:

– like being helpful, good at being helpful

Weaknesses:

– neglect themselves

– always seek acknowledgment of their helpfulness, guilt-trippers

Type 3: The Performer/Achiever

Basic Desire: To succeed

Basic Fear: To fail

Never? Feel good about any place but first.

Conceptualize death as a failure.

Strengths:

– hard workers

Weaknesses:

– have a hard time dealing with failure

– prioritize work above all else

Type 4: The Romantic

Basic Desire: To understand the self

Basic Fear: Being defective

Never? Spend 1 minute searching for a date outfit.

Conceptualize death as abandonment.

Strengths:

– empathetic

– specialize in emotionality

Weaknesses:

at risk of being overwhelmed by negativity

– self-destructive, sense of hopelessness

Type 5: The Thinker/Observer

Basic Desire: To understand the world

Basic Fear: Being overwhelmed by the world

Never? Invite over a relative they’ve never met.

Conceptualize death as a mystery.

Strengths:

emotionally stable

– voice of reason

Weaknesses:

– find it difficult to deal with emotions, and often disconnect themselves from their own emotions

– aloof and unempathetic

Type 6: The Questioner/Loyalist (Split)

Split: They are either the Piglets of the world (Oh my, oh my!) or the “Silence, I will kill you” type

Basic Desire: To be secure.

Basic Fear: Being abandoned.

Never? Remain optimistically calm about a spouse who is 3 hours late from sky-diving.

Conceptualize death as betrayal.

Strengths:

cautious and fiercely loyal

Weaknesses:

anxiety over safety of themselves and others

– paranoia

Type 7: The Enthusiast/Adventurer

(A surprising number of 7s in our Death and Dying class)

Basic Desire: To be happy

Basic Fear: To be deprived

Never? Choose cleaning the garage over bungee-jumping. (Only the 1s would)

Conceptualize death as no fun.

Strengths:

optimistic, no regrets

– their cheer is contagious for those around them

Weaknesses:

– impatient with others’ suffering and grief

Always strikes to me funny that 7s are the only people with the basic desire of being happy while all other types are preoccupied with other things.

Type 8: The Leader/Asserter

Basic Desire: Being self-reliant

Basic Fear: Submission

Never? Wait in line patiently while the cashier chats to a customer.

(These are the Arnold Schwarzeneggers of the world, the kind that would say to satan: “Compared to me, you are choir boy.”)

Conceptualize death as an opponent.

Strengths:

– take charge when others are unable to

Weaknesses:

Do not deal with emotions because emotions are a sign of weakness

– Likely to turn grief/sadness into anger

Type 9: The Peacekeeper

Basic Desire: To keep union and peace.

Basic Fear: Separation

Never? Refuse a soak in the bath tub. Zen.

Conceptualize death as disharmony.

Strengths:

resolve conflicts, mediators in arguments

– perceived to be good listeners

Weaknesses:

– strong emotions and a desire for peace are conflicting

– often try to disconnect themselves from emotions

– negative feelings will often show up in the form of physical symptoms.

WOOT. Finally done. Took me two hours. Bloody hell.

So, what type are you?

Make sure you leave it in the comments below!

Tagged with:

24 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Krishna said, on November 26, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    I am 7.

    • Jae said, on November 26, 2009 at 7:46 pm

      I have no idea how your comment ended in the spam section. O___O
      But I saw that 7 coming… although I thought you might have been 5 also.

  2. Cheryl said, on November 26, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    5

  3. philip said, on November 26, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    8, but with school the exact opposite of 3

  4. Edward said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I’m type 5…
    Type 5: The Sexiest Man Alive

    Basic Desire: To understand why these jeans dont fit me

    Basic Fear: Being overwhelmed by the fans

    Never? Invite over a relative they’ve never met. Unless they have wine.

    Conceptualize death as a mystery because i cant think of something witty to say

    Strengths:

    – emotionally sexy

    – voice of god

    – beating Joanna in all sports

    Weaknesses:

    – sometimes is too kind

    This was a neat quiz Jo.

    • Cheryl said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      “Conceptualize death as becoming a gift to heaven”

      • Edward said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:21 pm

        haha! Genius

    • Jae said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:15 pm

      all true, except for “beating Joanna in all sports”

      the lies that come out of this man, unbelievable.

      I have beaten you in basketball, ping pong and being awesome thus far.

      I look forward to our next challenge my next win.

  5. Jimmy said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    6!

  6. Ryan said, on November 26, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    I got 8.

  7. a drop of gloss said, on November 27, 2009 at 12:26 am

    A romantic Arnold Schwarzenegger looking for fun and success..
    Do you see that coming together!?
    F*ck that sounds bad.
    The Romantic was given but I really thought I was a good peacekeeper (lowest score!). So all the bouts might have been cause of my lousy peacekeeping (sounds better than me actually starting them 😀 !)…

  8. N said, on November 27, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Guess what I got, i got one that was 19 and one that was 17.

  9. N said, on November 27, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    1 with 18
    9 with 17
    7 and 8 with 14
    2 with 13

    • Cheryl said, on November 27, 2009 at 11:13 pm

      1 was also my highest, i got 19
      but i went with 5

  10. Amy said, on November 28, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    I am 7 and 8.

    • Jae said, on November 29, 2009 at 1:01 am

      dude being a 7 is awesome. except when your name is krishna everyone else is unhappy. lol

      • Amy said, on November 29, 2009 at 1:05 pm

        What are you?

        • Jae said, on November 29, 2009 at 5:48 pm

          guess? lol

          • N said, on November 30, 2009 at 9:39 am

            1 or 3

            • Jae said, on November 30, 2009 at 4:24 pm

              everyone pretty much guesses 3 correctly, but no one guesses that i’m a 4. lol

  11. theselooselips said, on November 29, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    Type 1 with 16.
    Type 2 with 16.
    Type 8 with 17.

    After reading them over, the three of them combined = me to a T, haha. I always want to fix things, am constantly looking for appreciation and notice, but also value being strong and independent. I see submitting to death as a weakness on the part of not trying to stay healthy and strong, and wish and hope that is something I will avoid. However, the world needs death, as do people, to cleanse, over turn, and move on.

    Aha. Awesome. Thanks for this! Kept me from filling out college apps. :/

    • Jae said, on November 30, 2009 at 4:24 pm

      good to know, writing it kept me from studying =P

  12. Pharmacy Technician said, on December 6, 2009 at 12:06 am

    great post as usual .. thanks .. you just gave me a few more ideas to play with


Leave a Reply

